Skip to content

Five CAA Football Standouts Remain on 2010 Walter Payton Award Watch List

Oct 5, 2010, 1:25 PM EDT

CAA Football’s five standouts recognized by The Sports Network on the Preseason Walter Payton Watch List, remained intact after the 20-player watch list went through its first round of updates, Oct. 4.  The 2010 Sports Networks Walter Payton Award, sponsored by, is in its 24th season and will be presented to the FCS National Player of the Year on Thursday, Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas – the night before the national championship game.

Reigning National Champion Villanova boasts three on the Watch List including seniors Ben Ijalana, Matt Szczur and Chris Whitney.  Szczur finished 21st in the Payton balloting last season, while Ijalana has already been named to the 2010 Outland Trophy Watch list.  Delaware senior Pat Devlin, who was 17th in the 2009 award voting, is also part of the 2010 Watch List while William and Mary’s junior Jonathan Grimes is a newcomer to the 2010 list.

William and Mary’s Jonathan Grimes

CAA Football logged five standouts on the preseason list, and all of them remained on the list’s most recent release, making the league’s total the most from any of the 11 FCS conferences honored.

The Payton Award Watch List will undergo another revision in the 2010 season scheduled for Oct. 25. Ballots will be sent to a panel of approximately 200 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries after the regular season on Nov. 22. Three finalists will be announced on Dec. 1 and invited to The Sports Network/Fathead FCS Awards Presentation the night before the national championship game.  Be sure to checkout The Sports Network’s Walter Payton Award website as it tracks week-by-week performances and more…

The Sports Network also presents the Buck Buchanan and Eddie Robinson awards which are sponsored by Fathead. The Buchanan Award honors the FCS Defensive Player of the Year and the Robinson Award honors the FCS Coach of the Year. Those two winners will join the Payton finalists at the national awards banquet.