Skip to content

Delaware’s Devlin and Towson’s Ibia included in the 2010 Semifinalists list for the William V. Campbell Trophy

Oct 13, 2010, 11:25 AM EDT

Selected as the best and brightest from the college gridiron, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced today the 121 semifinalists for the 2010 William V. Campbell Trophy (formerly known as the Draddy Trophy), endowed by HealthSouth, and the candidates for the 2010 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards.  CAA Football was represented by two of the 28 Football Championship Subdivision semifinalists, including Delaware’s Pat Devlin and Towson’s Yaky Ibia.

Delaware’s Pat Devlin

Towson’s Yaky Ibia

“This year’s Campbell Trophy semifinalists embody the National Football Foundation’s mission of building leaders through football,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning whose sons Peyton (1997 Campbell Trophy winner) and Eli were named NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. “They are standouts in the classroom and on the field and have become leaders in their respective communities. Each school should take great pride in being represented by such well-rounded young men who will undoubtedly go on to do great things in life.”

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, semifinalists must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The trophy was renamed last fall in honor of Bill Campbell, the chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF’s Gold Medal.

“The NFF would like to personally congratulate each Campbell Trophy semifinalist for maintaining such high standards throughout their collegiate careers,” said NFF President & CEO Steven J. Hatchell. “We are extremely proud to showcase their achievements, and there is no question that the NFF Awards Committee will have an incredibly difficult task in selecting the finalists from among this esteemed group.”

The NFF Awards Committee will select up to 15 finalists and announce the results via national press release on Thursday, Oct. 28. Each finalist will be recognized as part of the 2010 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, receiving an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. The Campbell Trophy winner, who will have his scholarship increased to $25,000 and receive a 25-pound bronze trophy, will be announced live at the NFF’s Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 7 at the prestigious Waldorf=Astoria in New York City. A total distribution of $277,000 in scholarships will be awarded that evening, bringing the NFF’s all-time scholarship distribution to $9.5 million.

Launched in 1959, the NFF scholar-athlete program became the first initiative in history to award post-graduate scholarships based on both a player’s academic and athletic accomplishments. The William V. Campbell Trophy, first awarded in 1990, adds to the program’s mystique, having previously honored two Rhodes Scholars, a Rhodes Scholar finalist, two Heisman Trophy winners and five first-round NFL draft picks. The University of Florida’s Tim Tebow was named the 2009 Campbell Trophy recipient and last year’s finalists combined for a 3.77 average GPA. The class boasted 14 academic all-conference student-athletes, including seven academic All-America picks; 14 all-conference players, including six All-America picks; 16 team captains; one Heisman Trophy winner; and eight members of conference championship teams.

2010 William V. Campbell Trophy Semifinalist Notes
• 3.58 Average GPA
• 46 Semifinalists with a 3.7 GPA or better
• 69 All-Conference Picks
• 76 Team Captains
• 16 Academic All-America Selections
• 20 All-America Selections
• 26 Players (among all divisions) represented in this week’s national top 25 polls
• 2 Players formerly named NFF National High School Scholar-Athletes
• 47 Nominees from the Football Bowl Subdivision
• 28 Nominees from the Football Championship Subdivision
• 12 Nominees from the Division II
• 27 Nominees from the Division III
• 7 Nominees from the NAIA
• 56 Offensive Players
• 48 Defensive Players
• 17 Special Teams Players

The NFF’S 2010 Campbell Trophy Semifinalists
Football Championship Subdivision
Albany – Chris Blais
Austin Peay State – Bradley Williams
Brown – Kyle Newhall-Caballero
Bucknell – Travis Nissley
Colgate – Greg Sullivan
Columbia – Alex Gross
Dartmouth – Tanner Scott
Dayton – Brandon Wingeier
Delaware – Pat Devlin
Drake – Dan Clinton
Eastern Kentucky – Logan O’Connor
Holy Cross – Bill Edger
Marist – Terrence Turner
Montana – Andrew Selle
Montana State – Jordan Craney
Nicholls State – Patrick Dolan
Norfolk State – Anthony Taylor
North Dakota – Ty Boyle
North Dakota State – Drew Hushka
Northern Arizona – Michael Herrick
Northern Colorado – Timothy McGraw
Sacramento State – Peter Buck
Saint Francis – Scott Lewis
South Dakota State – Conrad Kjerstad
Southern Utah – Tysson Poots
Towson – Yaky Ibia
Yale – Jesse Reising
Youngstown State – Stephen Blose

We actually noted this in an earlier post from Oct. 1, but after reflection feel it deserves its own individual post!  Congrats to both Pat and Yaky.

National Football Foundation’s Official Release…click here