Skip to content

New Hampshire’s Evans Now Part Of 2010 Buck Buchanan Award Watch List

Nov 12, 2010, 3:21 PM EDT

New Hampshire linebacker Matt Evans is one of the three latest additions to the 2010 Buck Buchanan National Defensive Player of Year Award Watch List, sponsored by  Evans’ addition to the 20-player list, gives CAA Football a total of six student-athletes recognized as candidates for the honor this season.

The Buchanan Award is in its 16th season and will be presented to the FCS National Defensive Player of the Year on Thursday, Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas – the night before the national championship game.  CAA Football will be looking for a repeat in 2010, as James Madison defensive end Arthur Moats won the honor last season.  Moats, who is among 40 CAA Football alums on NFL rosters this fall, became the second Duke and CAA Football student-athlete to log the honor.

Richmond boasted three on the Watch List at one point this season including seniors Eric McBride, Martin Parker and Justin Rogers.  Parker finished 13th in the 2009 Buchanan voting while both McBride and Rogers earned several preseason honors prior to 2010.  Senior Terence Thomas, who made eight tackles and a sack in Villanova’s National Champion win last season, was a part of the list throughout a majority of the season.  UMass’ Tyler Holmes, one of the more recent additions to the list, leads the league with five interceptions and is averaging better than 10 tackles a game in 2010.

Below is an abbreviated bio on the league’s newest addition to the 2010 Buck Buchanan Award Watch List

New Hampshire’s Matt Evans

 Matt Evans — New Hampshire — LB — Sophomore
Evans, a 6-foot, 219-pound redshirt sophomore, has posted double figures in tackles in eight of New Hampshire’s nine games, including a career-high 20 against William and Mary. He is tied for third in the FCS with 12.56 tackles per game. He also leads the Wildcats with 56 solo tackles and 11 tackles for a loss, while registering three sacks, two forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries and an interception.

A panel of nearly 175 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will select the Buchanan Award winner after the regular season.  Be sure to checkout The Sports Network’s Buck Buchanan Award website as it tracks week-by-week performances and more…

The Sports Network also presents the Walter Payton and Eddie Robinson awards which are sponsored by Fathead. The Payton Award honors the FCS Player of the Year and the Robinson Award honors the FCS Coach of the Year. Those two awards, like the Buchanan, will be presented at the national awards banquet.