Skip to content

National-Best Five @The_CAAFootball Squads Earn Postseason Berths

Nov 20, 2011, 12:27 PM EDT

For only the third time in NCAA Division I Football Championship history a conference has placed as many as five teams in postseason play — that conference is CAA Football.  The league is actually the only league to ever boast five playoff teams in the same season dating back to 2007 and 2008.

CAA Football newcomer Old Dominion will play in its first-ever postseason game Saturday, Nov. 26, at Foreman Field against nearby foe Norfolk State.  James Madison, which finished the season 7-4, will hit the road for its postseason opener, Nov. 26, travelling to Richmond, Ky., to face Eastern Kentucky.  The Dukes and Colonels matchup is currently the only first round game to have an official kickoff time of noon (ET) and the contest will be televised on ESPNUHD/ESPN3.  All other first round matchups will be carried live on ESPN3.

New Hampshire, Maine and Towson all received byes into the second round of action.  The Wildcats will travel across the country to face Montana State, Dec. 3, in Bozeman, Mont.  Maine will also open its postseason on the road when it travels south to take on Applachian State in Boone, N.C., Dec. 3.  Towson, the league’s outright champion for the first-time ever, will host its first-ever NCAA Division I playoff game Dec. 3 when Patriot League champion Lehigh comes to Unitas Stadium.

For the complete release visit