Skip to content

Reliving Our #CAAFB Road Trip to Spartanburg

Dec 3, 2012, 8:50 AM EDT

Two guys. One van. Six hours on the road. Such was the setting on Friday as my coworker Scott Meyer and I traveled down to Spartanburg, S.C., for New Hampshire’s Second Round FCS Playoff game against host Wofford.

Similar to many people in the sports industry, the opportunity to travel is one of my favorite parts of serving as CAA Football’s Director of Communications & Operations. As a college buff and geography geek, I love getting out on the road to visit different campuses, be a part of the gameday experience and meet the many folks who work so hard to make CAA Football and postseason gamedays go off without a hitch.

Of course road trips are always more enjoyable when you have someone along for the ride. The time flies by when you can have productive conversations about how to be more effective and efficient in your work, discuss short- and long-term goals for your position and talk about the changing nature of our industry.

One also learns a lot about his colleagues on a road trip, especially in terms of their idiosyncrasies  such as their affinity for disgusting barbecue bacon sunflower seeds (Scott) and their lack of shame in singing along to top-40 tunes (not Scott).

Our road trip to Spartanburg was made all the more enjoyable by the fact that we were traveling to the lovely South, where I had the pleasure of living for two years. How I’ve missed the fine cuisine (e.g., boiled peanuts), fashion (spotted: Bea Arthur style 1980s floral-print windsuit), random rural town names (Anyone out there from Butner, N.C.?) and the indisputably slower pace of life (can’t remember the last time I’ve spent 10+ minutes in a three-person line at Subway).

All sarcasm aside, however, the South is beautiful and its residents are among the friendliest and most hospitable people that I’ve ever met, which is a statement coming from a native small-town Midwesterner. The Wofford folks in particular were top notch and pulled out all the stops to welcome us and the wonderful UNH staff to town.

After 12 hours in the company van and the countless folks who I had the fortune of meeting over the course of the weekend, there’s no doubt that I’ll remember the weekend fondly. To get a better glimpse into our weekend, check out my quick video below. Nothing special, but it serves its purpose.

I plan to relive more of my trips via posts, pictures and video here on the blog in the future, so stay tuned for those. And while next weekend’s trip to Norfolk for Saturday’s Old Dominion/Georgia Southern game will be a bit shorter, I’m looking forward to it all the same.