Skip to content

#CAAFB Steals Show at TSN Awards Banquet

Dec 18, 2012, 10:26 AM EDT

The star players, storied coaches, notable dignitaries and media members in attendance on Monday evening made The Sports Network’s annual FCS Awards Banquet quite special for all involved. Because the event was invitation-only and not broadcast nationally as is the case with many of the FBS awards, I wanted to give our readers an inside glimpse into the night, which included a reception, a dinner and an awards presentation during which CAA Football secured two of FCS Football’s four most coveted national honors; this after the league locked up three of the four awards a year ago.

CAA Football certainly had its presence felt throughout the evening, as Old Dominion sophomore quarterback Taylor Heinicke took home the Walter Payton National Player of the Year Award and Villanova’s John Robertson received the Jerry Rice Freshman of the Year Award from the honor’s namesake himself. Former Nova great and 1997 Walter Payton Award Winner Brian Finneran was on hand to present this year’s honor to Heinicke, while Wildcats head coach and ’97 winner Andy Talley was in attendance to present the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award to North Dakota State’s Craig Bohl. We would later discover that Talley finished second in nationwide voting for the award.

(Click a photo to be taken to a slideshow gallery format.)