Skip to content

FCS Championship: Dallas Day 1

Jan 4, 2013, 7:06 PM EST

CAA Football has descended upon Dallas, where I’ve already begun to keep a count of cowboy hats and roadside steakhouses. Although our league isn’t fielding a team in Saturday’s FCS National Championship between 2012 champion North Dakota State and nearby Sam Houston State, there are plenty of activities taking place in and around Frisco ahead of tomorrow’s game for everyone from  the student-athletes and coaching staffs to the throngs of Bearkat and Bison fans to us school and conference staffers.

After waking up to 40 degree weather this morning (I thought I’d left the cold behind after traveling here from my holiday, but I guess even the Dallas area experiences some semblance of the winter season), Commissioner Yeager, Scott Meyer and I attended this afternoon’s annual FCS Summit. The summit consisted of four discussion sessions that covered a report from the FCS CEO and FCS Working Groups (moderated by our very own Tom Yeager), the 2013 FCS bracket expansion (tourney expands from 20 to 24 teams next year), NCAA branding/ESPN initiatives and financial trends in Division I Athletics.

I realize these sessions may sound a bit stale from the names themselves, but they were actually  very engaging and enlightening, especially to someone in his first year back at the conference office. Since these topics are central to our conference and the FCS as a whole moving forward, I’ll be sharing some of the highlights of my notes in the coming days. After maxing out my notepad, I think I’ll need a few days to synthesize my thoughts into something digestible for you all.

I’ll be checking back with all of you here on the blog again tomorrow, but in the meantime don’t forget to tune into tomorrow’s national championship game being aired live at 1 p.m. ET on ESPN2, WatchESPN and ESPN Radio. More on this weekend’s championship can be found on NCAA.com.

You can also catch updates of our time in Texas on Facebook, on Twitter @The_CAAFootball and on Instagram by searching caafootball.