Skip to content

It’s All About That 405 – John Laub’s Journey

Mar 18, 2013, 9:15 AM EST

source:  Editor’s Note: Former University of Richmond quarterback John Laub (’12) is currently training for the Spiders’ Pro Day and a shot to play at the next level. Join him on his journey as he shares his thoughts and experiences alongside his coach and three training partners in a series of weekly blog posts. Laub’s latest post can be found here.

Hey CAA Football Fans, I’m coming to you this week a few days before one of the biggest weeks of my life. My first opportunity to showcase my skills in front of scouts will be on Tuesday morning at the University of Richmond’s annual pro day. A few days later, I’ll be traveling to the Baltimore Ravens’ training facility to participate in one of the NFL’s Regional Combines. In a matter of five days, I’ll have two opportunities to show that all of this training over the past three months has paid off.

Richmond’s pro day will start bright and early Tuesday morning, and I’ll be able to go out and perform with a few of my teammates. Joining me will be safety Cooper Taylor, cornerback Darryl Hamilton, tight end Kevin Finney, running back Kendall Gaskins and defensive back Rodney Barnes. There has been a great turnout in terms of the number of teams represented every year that I’ve been able to watch Richmond’s pro day, so I’m hoping for the same and to impress throughout the morning.

Over the past few days, we’ve all been traveling to Richmond to gear up for this job interview. You can really tell how excited and anxious to perform we all are. All six of us put countless hours of work into this opportunity, and we all want to make some heads turn starting on Tuesday at 8 a.m.

Then Saturday, a number of other athletes and I will head up to Baltimore for the final NFL Regional Combine that will take place prior to the draft.  I recently found out that a former Richmond teammate of mine, Richard Muldrow, will also be attending, so it’ll be great to compete and impress alongside a former teammate. This obviously gives us another opportunity to get in front of and impress NFL team scouts and representatives from both an athleticism standpoint and a quarterback standpoint.

I think one of the main things that I’ve been thinking a lot about this past week is that it only takes one person to like you among all of the scouts and representatives at these things.  That one person can be the difference between you getting drafted, signed or getting a tryout, and it’s important to realize that. Every team’s situation is different in terms of their needs and the type of individual they’re looking to fit a certain position on their team.

You just have to find that one person who likes the things that you’re able to do on film and what you’re able to showcase as part of the combine testing and positional drills.  I definitely try and keep this in perspective because of my personal situation. I don’t have the advantage of having three years of film on me. Furthermore, in the one year I did start at Richmond, I suffered an injury that could deter some people from taking a look at me. All I can do is go out and hope to silence the critics and showcase my God-given abilities in hopes that I can reach at least one person who’s willing to take a chance on me and who believes I can help a team with what I’m able to do.

As these opportunities get closer and closer, I get a bit more anxious. But I know that I have to also appreciate the fact that I get to go out and try to make my dream become a reality. There are a bunch of people that would kill to be in my position and have the chance to impress someone with the hope of landing on a roster somewhere. Tuesday and Saturday present amazing opportunities and I’m making sure not to take either for granted even one bit.

I’ve put more than three months of work into my training and these opportunities. I’m now making sure that I go out, relax and show those scouts that they need to go back and take another look at what I’m able to do. I know that if I perform to the best of my ability, I can find that one person it takes to hopefully land me on a roster.

That’s all I need: Just one person who can give me a shot to reach my goal of getting a spot on a team and getting that 405.