Skip to content

Baner, MacArthur Boot Way Onto PK Watch List

Jun 24, 2013, 3:47 PM EST

source:  A pair of league kickers picked up preseason honors on Monday as Delaware’s Sean Baner and New Hampshire’s Mike MacArthur were named to College Football Performance Awards’ Placekicker Award Watch List. The tandem joins 29 other CAA Football standouts who have been selected to CFPA positional award watch lists so far this preseason.

Baner was among CAA Football’s most accurate kickers in 2012. The rising junior went 18-for-23 on field goals and led all kickers with 1.64 field goals per game. Baner was also perfect on PATS, nailing all 33 of his attempts, finishing the fall second among kickers and fifth in the league with 7.9 points per game.

MacArthur was named Third Team All-CAA and to the College Sports Madness All-CAA Third Team last season. He went 11-for-14 in field-goal attempts, hitting a long of 43 yards at Georgia State on Oct. 6 and converted 38 of 46 PATs. MacArthur was selected as the CAA Football and ECAC Special Teams Player of the Week after hitting a 27-yard field goal, going 5-for-5 on PATs and launching a 51-yard punt in a 44-40 comeback win over Richmond on Oct. 13. He also excelled in the classroom, completing his junior campaign as one of the recipients of the league’s Commissioner’s Academic Award and earning a spot on the Academic All-Conference Team.

The CFPA Watch List serves a rough guide to returning performers for the 2013 season. All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

There are currently 111 CFPA recipients listed on official 2013 NFL rosters. More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and 21 have been first-round NFL Draft selections.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including those CFPA FCS Awards honorees, will be announced on January 8, 2014. For more information, visit the CFPA website at