Skip to content

Seven #CAAFB LBs Named to CFPA Watch List

May 28, 2014, 11:44 AM EDT

Seven of the league’s top returning tacklers were recently named to the 2014 College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) FCS Awards Watch List.

Six different CAA Football schools had a player named to the list of 38 total linebackers chosen by the CFPA with two, Christophe Mulumba Tshimanga and Cabrinni Gonclaves, coming from Maine. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

Also included for the honor was Patrick Callaway of Delaware, Andrew Bose of Rhode Island, Eric Wright of Richmond, New Hampshire’s Shane McNeely and William & Mary’s Airek Green.

Mulumba Tshimanga, the 2013 CAA Football Defensive Rookie of the Year and All-CAA first team member, was also a finalist for the Jerry Rice Award. The redshirt freshman racked up 118 total tackles over 13 starts for the league champion Black Bears during his first season as a starter in Orono. Gonclaves wasn’t far behind, registering 101 tackles including a team-high 15 for loss last fall.

Callaway garnered second team All-CAA honors in 2013, leading the Blue Hens with 120 total tackles, including five for loss and two interceptions.

Bose has steadily improved over his career for the Rams, going from a third team All-CAA selection in 2012 to a second team member in 2013. He led Rhody with 76 total tackles last fall, highlighted by a 17-tackle performance in overtime at UAlbany despite missing the entire first quarter.

Wright was a third team All-CAA honoree on year ago after collecting 83 total tackles over 11 starts for the Spiders.

Both McNeely and Green enter 2014 as a seniors following productive junior campaigns in 2013. McNeely started 14-of-15 games for UNH, notching 120 total tackles — 13 for loss — to go along with six sacks and two interceptions. Green was a consensus first team All-CAA pick after recording 82 TT — also collecting 13 for loss — on top of four sacks and three picks last fall.

The full list of 2014 CFPA winners will be announced January 14, 2015.