Skip to content

Five #CAAFB Signal-Callers Picked On Preseason Watch List

Jun 11, 2014, 9:58 AM EDT

Preseason watch list recognition continued to roll on for more CAA Football studs on Monday. In all, five signal-callers heard their named called on the 38-player 2014 College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) FCS Awards Watch List for quarterbacks.

Listed below are the watch list honorees:

Trent Hurley, Delaware

Mike Quinn, Elon

Michael Strauss, Richmond

Sean Goldrich, New Hampshire

John Robertson, Villanova

Hurley turned out a productive junior campaign in 2013 under the new-look Blue Hens and first year coach Dave Brock. He led the league in pass efficiency (155.2) en route to throwing for 2,207 yards and 22 TDs versus just seven interceptions. Hurley’s 220.7 yards per game average ranked fourth in CAA Football, while he also added 265 rushing yards and one score last fall.

Quinn is the first Elon football player to earn any CFPA preseason honors for the 2014 season. Last fall, during the Phoenix’s final season in the Southern Conference, the junior tossed 17 TDs against nine interceptions. Quinn had a completion percentage of 62% and racked up 2,618 yards threw the air.

Strauss returns in 2014 as one of the league’s most dangerous passers. As a junior one year ago, he led #CAAFB in passing average (317.3 YPG) and passing TDs (26). He also led the league in QB total offense, accounting for 314 yards per game and total passing yards (3,808) and was picked off just eight times.

Goldrich figures to be the go-to guy under center for UNH in 2014 after ending the season strong last fall. He started nine of 14 games, including all four starts in the FCS playoffs, and collected 2,076 passing yards with 14 TDs and seven interceptions. Goldrich even added 417 rushing yards and six scores on the ground.

Robertson is one of the top returning dual-threat QBs in all of the FCS after racking up an astonishing 1,405 rushing yards and 20 TDs in 2013. Think about that for one second. … On top of those rushing numbers, the sophomore provided 1,957 passing yards with 13 TD strikes versus seven interceptions. Robertson is one of four QBs on the list coming back in 2014 after also being named to the CFPA watch list in 2013.

*Sidenote to keep an eye on: Hurley, Goldrich and Strauss each have a favorite target returning with them in 2014. Three WRs — Michael Johnson of UD, R.J. Harris of UNH and Stephen Barnette of UR — recorded 1,000-yard receiving seasons last year.

The full list of 2014 CFPA winners will be announced January 14, 2015. Check out other CAA players already included on defensive CFPA watch lists — DL/DB, LBs.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

@CAAFootball on Twitter

#CAAFB on Instagram

Excelling on and off the field! @unh_football's Cam Shorey and @towsonfootball's Jake Ryder named #CAAFB Student-Athletes of the Year! Our 2016 Academic All-Conference squad was just announced. Tanoh Kpassagnon was one of 24 to make the all-conference & academic team. #CAAFB This past season's #CAAFB Defensive & Offensive Rookies of the Year were once part of National Signing Day, too. Can't wait to see the future of our conference tomorrow! JMU's 2016 National Championship 🏆is the FIFTH #FCSChamp title for #CAAFB since 2003. This conference, man.