Skip to content

Three from CAA Football Win CFPA Honors

Jan 29, 2015, 3:58 PM EDT

CHARLESTON, S.C. – Three student-athletes from CAA Football were among the winners of the 2014 CFPA FCS national honors that were announced on Thursday afternoon.


Leading the group is Villanova’s John Robertson, who was named the CFPA National Performer of the Year, along with earning the CFPA Quarterback Award. Robertson earned numerous accolades following the 2014 season, including selections as the CAA Football Offensive Player of the Year, the FCS ADA Offensive Player of the Year and the Walter Payton Award winner.


New Hampshire’s R.J. Harris was chosen as the recipient of the CFPA Wide Receiver Award. The senior earned All-America First Team honors from the AFCA, AP, Walter Camp Foundation and The Sports Network following a season in which he led the Wildcats to a spot in the FCS national semifinals.


Finally, Villanova’s Don Cherry was chosen as the CFPA Linebacker Award winner. Cherry was previously named to the AP, TSN and Walter Camp All-America First Teams.


A complete list of the CFPA honors can be found here.



CFPA National Performer of the Year

John Robertson, Villanova


CFPA Quarterback Award

John Robertson, Villanova


CFPA Wide Receiver Award

R.J. Harris, New Hampshire


CFPA Linebacker Award

Don Cherry, Villanova